Published on November 11, 2016 by Philip Poole  
HC king queen 16

Samford University seniors Margaret Hehir and Micah Green-Holloway were crowned Homecoming Queen and King Nov. 11 during a special ball celebrating the university’s 175th anniversary. They were chosen in a campus-wide vote by the student body.

They also were presented at other homecoming events throughout the weekend, including at halftime of the Samford vs. Mercer football game.

Hehir is a nursing major from Atlanta, Georgia, and Green-Holloway is a management major from Birmingham.

Other senior class representatives on the homecoming court were Elizabeth Poulos, a science and religion major from Fayetteville, North Carolina; Mary Catherine Sansom, a nursing major from Acworth, Georgia; Trip Adams, a physics/engineering major from Nashville, Tennessee; and Jhamall Wright, an exercise science major from Nashville.

Junior class court members, both from Birmingham, were Caroline Carlisle, a mathematics major, and Nelson Park, a public administration major.

Sophomore representatives were Gracie Groves, a nursing major from Charlotte, North Carolina, and Preston Little, a marketing and entrepreneurship major from Suwanee, Georgia.

Freshman class court members were Julianne Jorgenson, an English and classics major from Memphis, Tennessee; and Lane Linton Mitchell, a marketing major from Johns Creek, Georgia.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 37th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 97th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,758 students from 48 states and 22 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.