Published on December 9, 2016 by Katie Stewart  
Diana Cheshire.JPG

Samford University Orlean Beeson School of Education’s Diana Cheshire, associate dean and associate professor, has been appointed as a member of the Alabama Department of Education Strategic Planning Committee on Mathematics.

She was appointed by State Superintendent of Alabama Michael Sentence. As a member of this committee, she will help in the process of better shaping the Alabama education system, plan for the hiring of math teachers throughout the state, research ways to raise student achievement, and promote excellence in the teaching and learning of mathematics in the state. 

“This opportunity allows me to further understand the need for improvement in areas within Alabama’s content standards and, in turn, know how to better prepare the many future teachers within Samford’s school of education,” Cheshire said. 

Cheshire has been in higher education for more than 10 years and has received the Teacher Scholar Award from the School of Education, Health and Human Performance at the College of Charleston. Along with her experience in higher education, Cheshire spent 15 years teaching middle school, and was part of the web design and development team for the Standards 2000 Project for National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Along with her responsibilities as associate dean and associate professor, Cheshire serves as program director of instructional design and technology in the school of education.

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.