Published on January 19, 2017 by Philip Poole  
service awards 17

Samford University recognized 1,495 years of service during the annual employee recognition luncheon Jan. 18. A total of 124 employees were honored.

“The attributes displayed by these individuals include loyalty, dedication, commitment and faithfulness,” said Lisa Imbragulio, assistant vice president for business and financial affairs. “Everyone here is evidence that we keep a good team together.”

Becky Warr, nursing, was honored for 35 years of service. Nena Sanders, vice provost for the College of Health Sciences, said Warr was a “foundation” for the nursing program.

“Becky helps our students gain the skills and resources they will need to go into a patient’s room for the first time,” Sanders said. “Her strong clinical skills help a student get through the first days of their clinical experience.”

Sanders read from student comments about Warr, including one that said “I’m thankful for her commitment to students.”

Employees recognized for 30 years were J.D. Burson, technology services; Ed Cherry, library; Roger Lander, pharmacy; and Mike McCormack, business services.

Honored for 25 years of service were Geri Beers, nursing; Michael Floyd and Pattie Harris, law; Larron Harper, business; and Ed Landers, marketing and communication.

Fourteen employees received 20-year service awards, including Daphne Carr, education; Aaron Farrow, transportation services; Rosemary Fisk, Alan Hargrave, Sonya Stanley and Julie Steward, arts and sciences; Ginger Frost, provost’s office; Randolph Horn, business and financial affairs; Jane Martin and Elaine Marshall, nursing; Deb McNeal, student affairs and enrollment management; Jim Reburn, business; Darlene Robbins, divinity; and Debi Whitcomb, technology services.

Recognized for 15 years were John Carroll, law; Marian Carter, health sciences; John David Chatta, Ernie Gates, Donald Nation and Dale Skelton, technology services; Douglas Clapp, Steve Donaldson, Kathy Flowers, Mary McCullough and Vicki Thornburg, arts and sciences; Deborah Crowson, Sara Gould and Kim Sims, registrar’s office; Grant Dalton, Scott Fisk and Robin Snyder, arts; Patrice Donnelly and Steven Jones, business; Margie Findlay, nursing; Sean Flynt, marketing and communication; Debbie Mize and Renee Pelfrey, university advancement; Bridget Rose, academic success; Grace Simms, law library; and David Whitt, capital planning and improvement.

Among the 35 employees honored for 10 years of service were Joe Adams, Public Affairs Research Council of Alabama; Ivy Alexander, Bernie Ankney, Carolyn Crocker, David Frings and Jeffrey Powell, arts and sciences; Andy Benson, public safety and emergency management; Kristie Chandler and Patti Wood, education; Jennifer Epperson and Elizabeth Martin, financial aid; Brandon Evans, Harold Goss and Ross Newton, athletics; Bob Greene and Jeff Price, law; Joe Hopkins, arts; Alan Jung, health professions; Matt Kerlin, spiritual life; Darlene Kuhn, Pat Sullivan and Andrew Westmoreland, president’s office.

Also, Franz Lohrke, Yolanda Long and Ginger Robertson, business; David Luthin, pharmacy; Melissa Matthews and Sydney Park, divinity; Polly McKay, human resources; Lucy Phillips, facilities management; Brandon Rawls and Romar Smith, technology services; Karen Rayburn, registrar’s office; Ian Schwarting, accounting and financial services; and Michael Wilson, Center for Congregational Resources.

Honored for five years were Susan Blazer and Sandi Prater, ESL program; Rhonda Brazil, Jill Hightower and Trisha Stovall, nursing; Keri Burns, Center for Congregational Resources; Jane Cobia, education; Kim Cripps, Stacy Gay and Sharon Smith, university advancement; Bernadette D’Souza, Jaime Ivie and Jessica Skelley, pharmacy; Rahim Esmail and Martin Newton, athletics; Howard Finch, business; Woodrow Hartzog and Laura Patterson, law; Drew Hataway, Allison Hepola and Serena Simoni, arts and sciences; Sheri Heasley and David Presley, admission; Jordan Hughes, library; Robbie Jackson and Brian Wood, public safety and emergency management.

Also, Caroline Williams Janeway, University Fellows; Jalete Joseph-Nelms, campus recreation; Kristin Kenning and Brian Viliunas, arts; Chez Knox, technology services; Carolyn Lankford and Peter Malysz, divinity; Jamie McLemore, bookstore; Fred Morris, decision support and financial services; Jennifer Novotny, university services; Brad Radice, marketing and communication; Muriel Warren, provost’s office; and Rich Yoakum, counseling services.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.