Samford Team Selected for AAC&U Institute

Published on June 6, 2017 by Sean Flynt  

Howard College of Arts and Sciences Dean Tim Hall led a Samford University team selected to attend the American Association of Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) Institute on General Education and Assessment at Loyola University May 31–June 3. The team also included David Bains (religion), Don Bradley (sociology), Joseph Cory (visual arts), Eric Fournier (Office of Assessment) and D.J. Gililland (Kinesiology).

AAC&U’s team-based institutes offer campuses a time and place for sustained collaborative work on a project of importance to their campuses, along with a curriculum focused on important trends, research and best practices delivered by a resident faculty of educational experts and consultants. At the Loyola institute, the Samford team explored intentional, well-defined and meaningfully assessed models of general education.

“The individuals and teams selected to participate in AAC&U’s 2017 summer institutes demonstrate their commitment to developing and exchanging best practices in support of student success, which is more important than ever,” said AAC&U President Lynn Pasquerella. “We look forward to ongoing collaboration in championing our shared objectives around advancing liberal education and inclusive excellence in service to the public good.”


ABOUT SAMFORD UNIVERSITY -- Samford University is a premier nationally ranked Christian university. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 3rd among regional universities in the South, and Samford is recognized as the top-ranked university in the state of Alabama in national rankings published by Forbes Inc, The Economist and The Wall Street Journal. Samford enrolls 5,509 students from 45 states and 30 countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.