Published on September 28, 2017 by William Nunnelley  

A touring delegation of legal professionals from Kosovo visited Samford University’s Cumberland School of Law Sept. 27 to learn more about judicial ethics in the U.S. The group of six from the Balkan nation is studying the topic "Supporting Judicial Ethics and Discipline" during its visit to the U.S.

"Cumberland often hosts lawyers, judges and court personnel for other countries to discuss our legal system and I am honored to have the opportunity to discuss our approach to legal ethics and discipline with the delegation from Kosovo," said law professor and former dean John L. Carroll, who spoke to the group and others in Bishop Conference Room.

"The foundation of our legal system is that no one, especially judges, is above the rule of law and I appreciate having the opportunity to discuss these important concepts with our visitors," he said.

Former Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice Drayton Nabers, now director of Samford’s Mann Center for Ethics and Leadership, also spoke, saying, "I am satisfied that America owes its prosperity to the wisdom of its founders in creating our Constitution and the courageous leadership of our first Chief Justice, John Marshall, in establishing a rule of law in our nation."

The Kosovo group also toured the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute during its visit.

Global Ties Alabama is the state host for the delegation and they are in the country through the Open World Leadership Center, a program through the U. S. State Department. Cumberland School of Law’s Public Interest Program headed by assistant dean Cassandra Adams sponsored the visit to Samford’s law school.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.