Published on December 6, 2017 by Philip Poole  
pendulum seal

Four have been elected to Samford University’s board of trustees beginning Dec. 1. The new members include three attorneys and a Birmingham-area pastor.

Andy Birchfield, attorney with Beasley Allen Law in Montgomery, Alabama, was elected to serve a four- year term, 2017-22. He is a 1988 Samford graduate.

Albert L. Shumaker, an attorney in Centre, Alabama, is filling an unexpired term, 2017-18. Shumaker previously served 12 years as a trustee and is a 1963 graduate.

Sharon Donaldson Stuart, a partner with Christian & Small law firm in Birmingham, is filling an unexpired term, 2017-20. Stuart received an undergraduate degree from Samford in 1987 and earned her law degree in 1990. She is a part of a multi-generation Samford family.

Danny Wood, senior pastor of Shades Mountain Baptist Church in suburban Vestavia Hills, Alabama, also was elected to serve a four-year term, 2017-22. Wood earned a Doctor of Ministry degree in 1999 from Samford’s Beeson Divinity School.

The 43-member board serves as the governing body for the university. Trustees serve four-year terms.

Reelected to additional four-year terms were Karon O. Bowdre, federal judge, Birmingham; Victor M. Brown, an executive with the Birmingham Business Alliance; Robert Holmes Jr. of Birmingham, retired executive with Alabama Power; Don Kilgore, Jasper, Alabama business; Sherri P. McKean, board chair, Children First Foundation, Montgomery, Alabama; Garry Ray Pearman, Huntsville, Alabama businessman; and Roderic G. Steakley, attorney, Brownsboro, Alabama.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.