Published on May 3, 2018 by Kristen Padilla  
divinity awards

Six students were recognized for outstanding achievement in various fields of study for the 2017-18 academic year during a special community worship service at Samford University’s Beeson Divinity School April 26. 

Four students, who will graduate May 4 with Master of Divinity (M.Div.) degrees, received awards. 

Ben Crocker received the James Earl Massey Student Preacher Award for excellence in preaching. He preached the sermon during the April 26 worship service entitled, “The Nearness of the Knower” based on Psalm 139. 

Jacob Catlett received the History and Doctrine Award in recognition of his exemplary scholarship in historical and systematic theology. 

Yannick Christos-Wahab received the William M. Todd Award for Biblical Languages in recognition for his mastery of biblical languages. 

Cris Harper received the Pastoral Ministry Award for his outstanding achievement in the study of pastoral theology and practice of pastoral ministry. 

One student, who graduated in December with an M.Div. degree, received an award. 

Steven Breedlove received the Most Distinguished M.Div. Student Award in recognition of his outstanding and holistic achievement in scholarship, Christian spirituality and ministry involvement. 

One other award was given to a nongraduating student. 

First-year M.Div. student Russell Mann received the Mathews-Thielman Scholarship Award, given in recognition of exemplary Christian character and acumen in biblical studies. The award was established several years ago in honor of two professors, Frank Thielman and Ken Mathews, for their 25th anniversaries at Beeson Divinity School. 

Watch Crocker’s sermon and the award presentations on Beeson’s YouTube channel.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.