Published on October 20, 2014 by Sean Flynt  
debate trophies

Samford sophomore debaters Aaron Atwell and Marley Davis took first place in the novice division at the Samford University tournament Oct. 17-19, defeating Florida State in the finals on a unanimous decision. The duo defeated teams from FSU, Vanderbilt, Emory and Florida en route to victory. Davis was named second speaker, Atwell was named fourth speaker, and freshmen Ann Le took fifth speaker. Freshmen Ella Oxley and Ashley Herring also competed, defeating Emory University.

Learn more about Samford Debate 

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.