Published on March 1, 2018 by Sean Flynt  
Journalist Roy S. Johnson
Journalist Roy S. Johnson

Samford University’s Department of Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC) will host Roy S. Johnson, columnist and director of content development at Birmingham News, for the 2018 Timothy Sumner Robinson Forum March 6.

Samford students will attend a Q&A session with Johnson at 5 p.m. in University Center Annex (UCA) room 108 at 5 p.m.

The free public forum will begin at 7 p.m. in Brooks Hall Auditorium (room 134).

In addition to his previous position as director of sports at, Johnson's journalism career includes service as assistant managing editor at Sports Illustrated, vice president and editor-in-chief of Men’s Fitness magazine, editor-in-chief of History Channel magazine, and staff writer at the New York Times. He has produced national TV and radio content for Sports Illustrated, and co-authored biographies with Avery Johnson, Charles Barkley, and Earvin (Magic) Johnson.

Distinguished Samford journalism alumnus Timothy Sumner Robinson led a distinguished career as an editor, columnist and reporter with The Washington Post. He also served as editor-in-chief of the National Law Journal. His family established the lecture series in his name to bring to Samford leading voices in journalism.

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.