Published on November 27, 2018 by Sean Flynt  
Fournier, with Samford geography students, colleagues Jennifer Rahn and Jonathan Fleming, and SEDAAG president Joann Mossa

Samford University geography professor Eric Fournier received the Outstanding Service Award at the annual conference of the Southeastern Association of American Geographers (SEDAAG) Nov. 18-19.

Fournier, who also serves Samford as director of the university’s Center for Teaching, Learning and Scholarship, was honored for his exceptional professional commitment to geography and contributions to the profession. His many previous honors include selection by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching as the 2014 Alabama Professor of the Year.

At the same conference, five Samford geography students presented their Senior Seminar research projects, completed under the supervision of professors Jennifer Rahn and Jonathan Fleming.

Students and projects included:

Noah A. Herndon–Comparison of the Toxic Release Inventory and Local Demographics of Alabama.

Robert K. Fightmaster–How the Eye of Africa Could Have Housed an Ancient Civilization.

Matthew Steven Franklin and Austin Mohlenbrok–Population Analysis of Small-Stakeholder Settlement Schemes in Trans Nzoia County, Kenya.

Forrest Courtney and Jennifer Rahn–Saba: A Small Island Reef Rehabilitation Effort.  

David Coburn–Business and GIS Interrelated Topics.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.