Published on August 3, 2017 by Gerald Smith  
"The Local" Samford student-produced magazine

Samford University’s The Local student magazine earned “honorable mention” in the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s prestigious annual competition in July.

The AEJMC’s magazine division competition is open to any school in the country. This year, it attracted 222 entries from 22 universities from the United States and Canada. Judges included publishers, editors and writers for consumers and special business magazines. They honored The Local for its overall look and quality of the magazine and cover, along with the quality of stories and designs.

“I’m really excited for those students who got recognized for their hard work, who displayed a lot of dedication for creating a top-notch product coming from Samford University,” Samford journalism and mass communication professor and competition sponsor Clay Carey said.

All winners will receive certificates at the AEJMC conference award ceremony August 11 in Chicago, Illinois.

The Local staff:
Editor-in-Chief Claire Jaggers
Madison Browder
Asia Burns
Hannah Diamond
McLane Evans
Hannah Garrett
Caleb Jones
Hallie King
Charis Nicoles
Kate Sullivan

Gerald Smith is a journalism and mass communication major and a news and feature writer in the Division of Marketing and Communication.

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.