The Student Government Association represents and promotes student interest in the decision-making process of Samford University by cultivating and maintaining leadership among students. The SGA also develops, coordinates, and executes activities and services for the benefit of the students.

The Student Government Association is organized into four branches that provide a wide range of opportunities for student involvement. Each one of the branches is presided over by a member of the Student Executive Board (SEB).

Governing Documents

All laws and resolutions of the undergraduate Student Government Association are codified and maintained by the Senate Code of Laws Committee. All legislative measures are published according to general topics by title and chapter in the Code of Laws and outlined in the Constitution.

Honor Code

The Honor Code is a document which outlines the conduct standards for all Samford University undergraduate students.  The Honor Code exists to provide policies and student-led procedures for upholding those standards. The Honor Code calls on Samford students to live lives that give honor to God and respect to others. This Honor Code furthers Samford’s mission to model ethical competency, foster academic achievement, and advance vocational potential, while encouraging social and civic responsibility and service to others.

Read the Full Honor Code


The 2021 Freshmen Elections will take place on Wednesday September 15th. The elected positions include Freshmen Class Senators as well as Class President, Vice President, and Treasurer. The applications for those positions will open on Monday August 30th and close on Friday September 3rd. Please contact with any questions.

Executive Branch

Student Executive Board

The Student Executive Board includes the SGA student body president, vice president for senate, vice president for events, press secretary, chief justice, chief of staff, treasurer, and chaplain. The director of student leadership & involvement advises SEB.

2021-2022 Executive Board

photo of Kendall

Tyler Kendall
SGA President

photo of Powers

Cole Powers
Vice President for Senate

photo of Coleman

Caroline Coleman
Vice President for Events

photo of Chiodo

Josh Chiodo
Chief Justice

photo of Clark

Andrew Clark
Chief of Staff

photo of West

Anna Legan West
Press Secretary

photo of Berggren

Kali Berggren

photo of Jones

Charleston Jones

Multicultural Affairs Committee

The Multicultural Affairs Committee (MAC) makes recommendations to the Student Executive Board to improve cultural awareness and support on-campus multicultural programming, as well as to ensure minority representation in the Student Government Association. The committee serves as diversity peer educators in order to advance cultural competency and cross-cultural dialogue on campus. The administrative assistant for diversity and intercultural initiatives advises MAC.

MAC Application

Presidential Advisory Council

Presidential Advisory Council (PAC) is comprised of student leaders from across campus. PAC members meet with the SGA president and chief of staff once a month to share news and information and to discuss ways to improve Samford’s campus. The coordinator of student leadership & involvement advises PAC.

Class Officers

Class Officers consist of a president, vice president, and treasurer elected to represent each class (freshman, sophomore, junior, senior). The president also serves as a voting member on Senate and the vice president represents his/her class on the Presidential Advisory Council. The coordinator of student leadership and involvement advises Class Officers.

Senior Class

photo of Crisologo

Alan Crisologo

photo of Bowers

Song Bowers
Vice President

photo of Mitchell

Maggie Mitchell

Junior Class

photo of Mintz

Andrew Mintz

photo of Daniel

Darby Daniel
Vice President

photo of Frasier

Riley Frasier

Sophomore Class

photo of Collins

Micaiah Collins

photo of Hunter

Jada Hunter
Vice President

photo of Spanier

William Spanier

Freshman Class Officer/Senator Application

Freshman Forum

Freshman Forum is an interactive, leadership seminar for first-year students at Samford. At the beginning of the fall semester, 40 students are selected to participate by the Director of Freshman Forum and 5 sophomore advisors. Members meet weekly during the fall and spring semesters. The coordinator of student leadership and involvement advises Freshman Forum.

Freshman Forum Application

Legislative Branch


Senate serves as the “voice” of Samford students, allocating funds to student organizations and initiating resolutions that seek to create positive change on campus. Senate roster, minutes, bills, resolutions, and undergraduate organization funding request forms are available under “forms and files”. The director of student leadership & involvement advises Senate.

Senate Committees

Senators are divided into committees based on areas of campus and are representative of all colleges within Samford. Visit Bulldog Central to file a Constituent Report Form on campus concerns or suggestions.

2020-2021 Senate Committee Chairs

  • Academic Affairs
    • Chair: Amelia Park
    • Co-chair: Molly Sullivan
  • Campus Services
    • Chair: Alan Crisologo
    • Co-chair: Rachael Lane
  •  Code of Laws
    • Chair: Caroline Bass
    • Co-chair:  Lauren Lambert
  •  Community Life
    • Chair: Cole Powers
    • Co-chair: Dowen Fife
  •  Diversity
    • Chair: Cooper Shull
    • Co-chair: Jalen Williams
  • Finance
    • Chair:  Tucker Bryan
    • Co-chair: Ari Thomas
  •  Student Life
    • Chair: Madeline Guy
    • Co-chair: Carson Caulfield

Judicial Branch

Student Judiciary Council

Student Judiciary Council (SJC) hears and reviews student violations of Samford’s Honor Code. For additional information regarding values violations, please view the Student Handbook and the Honor Code. The director of student leadership and involvement advises SJC.

The Student Judiciary Council also reviews and resolves traffic appeals submitted by students. The assistant director of transportation services advises SJC on parking-related matters. For additional information regarding parking and parking appeals, please visit the transportation service webpage.

Appeal a Parking Violation

Activities Branch

Student Activities Council

Student Activities Council (SAC), a branch of Student Government Association (SGA), exists to plan and execute campus-wide events and traditions. Student Activities Council’s vision is to plan events that bring students together and help build community across campus.

Learn more